Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Mon Oct 23, 2017 2:43 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 77 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2017 10:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2005 1:56 pm
Posts: 1097
Location: near PETERBOROUGH, ON, CA
L-Man wrote:
Most TVs have multiple inputs ... why not use it as a video switch?



IF,,,IF the cause of HDMI failures is the cable box then you could end up wrecking a potentially more valuable tv.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2017 10:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 20, 2011 12:15 pm
Posts: 206
Location: toronto, ON, CA
Chipmunk1957 wrote:
http://www.canuckaudiomart.com/details/649358538-anthem-avm-30/


No HDMI


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2017 11:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2014 5:18 pm
Posts: 57
Location: etobicoke, ON, CA
I think you should play the lotto. Okham's razor. What's more likely, that a bad wire or bad cable box is overloading each one of these receivers and only the receivers, or that you had a few faulty ones and the last one was fried in a storm? Not sure. Leaning towards the latter, especially since your electrics were redone.

If getting the latest Codecs is important to you, I would suggest you give it one more try. I'd replace your hdmi cables to be on the safe side since that will be relatively cheap, and swap the rogers box since it's free. It might be a convenient time to consider separates, too. At least you would still have your amp if your PrePro get's zapped.

If you don't care about the latest Codecs, or if you rely on the Oppo to do the decoding, your money goes further with a used non-hdmi model. I made that swap recently, and for the price of selling my newer Marantz PrePro, I got an older Bryston, and it sounds considerably better. I let my TV do the video switching. The logitech harmony remote (60$ on sale) takes care of that for me automatically so I don't have to use multiple remotes.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2017 11:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 6:38 pm
Posts: 52
Location: Pickering, ON, CA
AVM 30 doesn't have hdmi but it has worked well for me for the past 10 years. You can use balanced cables if your amp has the inputs. It barely gets warm even after being on for hours.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2017 12:34 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 11:07 am
Posts: 639
Location: London, ON, CA
I think the older AVM series are one of the best bargains in audio at the moment. Try to get a stereo preamp that performs as well as the AVM30 for $400. I don't think it can be done.

I feed the 6-channel analogue output of the Oppo103 into an AVM40 and voila - all codecs supported (except Atmos). I don't need video switching; I only use optical discs, my Hard Drive, Netflix or Apple TV, and they are all either part of the Oppo system or plugged into it.

And the Anthem learning remote operates everything - projector, Apple TV, Oppo player, and of course the pre/pro.

The AVM40 even has HDMI, but I don't need/use it.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2017 12:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 20, 2011 12:15 pm
Posts: 206
Location: toronto, ON, CA
I use Apple TV. AVM-30 is a non-starter


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2017 1:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 7:52 pm
Posts: 453
Location: Waverley, NS, CA
Time for 2.1


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2017 2:32 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 11:07 am
Posts: 639
Location: London, ON, CA
Bumpy wrote:
I use Apple TV. AVM-30 is a non-starter


That depends on the application.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2017 2:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 12:20 pm
Posts: 288
Location: Delta, BC, CA
I have had the misfortune of having a couple HDMI boards fry on me.... in processors, fortunately everything else worked no problem... the techie told me that any sort of quick burst of current will fry them instantly, where other boards will not even flinch... I settled on a Anthem receiver strictly as a processor. only because of the Dolby Atmos.. cost being the huge factor, a stand alone processor with Dolby Atmos or DTS -X is huge coin. So far, no issues, just wish Krell or one of the big boys would put out a processor that didn't require a mortgage.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2017 3:22 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 1:17 pm
Posts: 2398
Location: Not Toronto, ON, CA
If this was a customers house and everything else looked good, I would definitely get that cable box out of there. That is the constant based on what I've read, so most logical source of issues. My aunt had like 3 replacement phones that all did the same thing - batteries fried quick as. Turns out that they weren't replacing her charger, just the phone, and they were getting fed up with helping her. Can replace the phone all y'all want but it ain't doing anything good.

HDMI is whack. Love/Hate and all that. Even as an installer, I hated the CEC connections and all that. It got very frustrating trying to get stuff to play nice... now they wanna go and change the standards again and such. Convenient as heck, but its the TV/VCR combo of the cable world - two things to fail and when one goes, its lots it charm and most purpose... unless you're frustrated enough to use it to strangle one of those warranty reps who helped ya so much :lol:

_________________
... just can't trust them corvette drivin' freemasons!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2017 5:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 5:16 am
Posts: 67
Location: peterborough, ON, CA
I'm on my 4th hdmi enabled receiver, 2 denon 2 pioneer, not one has failed. Gotta be something else going on.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2017 5:27 am 
Online
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 9:41 am
Posts: 3807
Location: Ingersoll, ON, CA
I had my brother exchange the Rogers STB for another, I also had him put on a couple new HDMI cables. No change, still no picture (incidentally there is no picture on Blu-Ray either).
He also found these things on Amazon. At $1.88 I can't imagine they're high tech but if they don't louse up the picture or audio why not?
One more question. I have an Onkyo Integra DTR 40.2 with a defective HDMI board. Should I just bite the bullet and get it repaired or look a buying nice little cheapo A/V receiver. The costs would likely be close.
Also, from what I've been able to research, there has been little to no progress from Onkyo or it's sister, Pioneer.
HDMI flaws are still rampant.

Attachment:
41RJGH29F-L._SX425_.jpg
41RJGH29F-L._SX425_.jpg [ 21.22 KiB | Viewed 304 times ]


They're supposed to be surge protectors.
Onkyo owns Pioneer.
Denon owns Marantz.
HMMM! So much for a plethora of choices.

_________________
He who is like the wind blowing from your pants.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Aug 13, 2017 6:33 am 
Online
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 9:41 am
Posts: 3807
Location: Ingersoll, ON, CA
So I got another Rogers box (4642 HD) and all was good for a few days now it is acting up. Audio drop outs, pixellation, screen freezes etc.
Rogers has no problem replacing the box, AGAIN.
I mentioned that I'd like the everything checked, ground, voltage, cable, etc.
Wonder of wonders, she (Rogers CSR) agreed.
It will take a few weeks but one more problem down.

_________________
He who is like the wind blowing from your pants.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Aug 13, 2017 6:48 am 
Offline
Premium User

Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2016 3:47 pm
Posts: 1220
Location: Oakville, ON, CA
This is most puzzling. I hope you find yourself back in video nirvana very soon. As an aside, I have owned two of your most hated AVR brands. My Onkyo lasted me trouble-free for 15 years and my Denon is on Year 3 with no issues.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Aug 13, 2017 7:49 am 
Online
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 9:41 am
Posts: 3807
Location: Ingersoll, ON, CA
Tangram wrote:
This is most puzzling. I hope you find yourself back in video nirvana very soon. As an aside, I have owned two of your most hated AVR brands. My Onkyo lasted me trouble-free for 15 years and my Denon is on Year 3 with no issues.

For what ever reason, there seems to be a lot of defective STB. The CSR at the Rogers store said their is usually a line up of people returning defective/damaged STB especially after a storm. She unplugs hers if there is a storm warning or if she is going to be away for more than a weekend.
In five years she's had to replace her PVR twice.

_________________
He who is like the wind blowing from your pants.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 77 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group