Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Sun Oct 22, 2017 5:52 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: Speaker CHOICE Help ??
PostPosted: Sat May 27, 2017 10:09 am 

Hello all. I'm really new to these forums . I'm not very experienced in audio/video. Heck I hire people to hook up my stuff. I have marantz sr8001 7.1 channel integrated . Also Anthem 225 . 3x200watt for fronts. Have B&W cm 9's with cm 2 s2 for center. Heres my question what would you buy for rear surrounds. 683 s2 towers or cm6 s 2. Only plan on using 5.1 channel for now. Thanks for any and all input. FYI I have a rather large room 15 x 22. Its a townhouse and don't plan on any expenditures for acoustic treatments . Will be moving back home in 3 years have dedicated hT Room there !! I WANNA GO HOME !! LOL

PostPosted: Sun Jun 11, 2017 1:20 pm 

My advice is don't spend much on surround speakers. The surround signal is limited in frequency and depending on decoding in dynamics as well. Get a cheap used 2 way bookshelf on high enough stands or mounted on wall/ ceiling and see how you like them. Used paradigm Titan comes to mind. Can be had for under 100. Make sure they had replaced surround. If you don't like them, go spend more.
Keep in mind for many people next step is to go back to 2 channels or 2.1 after the thrill of surround experience fades.

PostPosted: Sun Jun 11, 2017 3:28 pm 

Bandy wrote:
My advice is don't spend much on surround speakers. The surround signal is limited in frequency and depending on decoding in dynamics as well. Get a cheap used 2 way bookshelf on high enough stands or mounted on wall/ ceiling and see how you like them. Used paradigm Titan comes to mind. Can be had for under 100. Make sure they had replaced surround. If you don't like them, go spend more.
Keep in mind for many people next step is to go back to 2 channels or 2.1 after the thrill of surround experience fades.

+1