Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Sat Oct 21, 2017 12:36 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2017 5:18 am 

Hello everyone,

I'm new to all of this home theatre stuff, but have done a bit of research. Frankly, I don't know what to do with myself.

I purchased a TV in December of 2015, and was offered a good deal on some Samsung HTiB packages, and could probably go back and get a good deal on some of those as well. I decided not to go with the HTiB for the simple fact that it doesn't offer any future changes. We decided to wait and buy a proper receiver, and speakers. It's now over a year later, and we prioritised other things and we still have no additional speakers to the tv's. Frankly, the '2.1' speakers in this tv are dismal. I have a neighbour who likes to enjoy his self made music next door, and we are often trying to drone out his noise. This has been a growing nuisance, and we are at the point now, where we would like to get something, but have a limited budget. We are not trying to get something which is just thump and bump, but something with some clarity. I initially had the idea that for $200-250 I could get a used system. I have since been awoken, but unfortunately still can only muster about $400.

So I have constant competing thoughts of what I should do.

I have come across an onkyo ht-s5800 kit that the owner is asking $450. This a HTiB but seems to be a more serious system. I like basically everything about this, except I am not sure if it will do multi-room which would be nice. I am also not sure if I could upgrade the speakers down the road, and from reviews, it seems like it's a cheap system.