Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 5:01 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jun 03, 2016 5:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 5:40 am
Posts: 5
Location: Uxbridge, ON, CA
Hi,

I have run a cable from my receiver zone 3 about 200Ft down to my pool via ethernet. On one end I have wired the ethernet to a standard audio or RCA cable and the same on the other end. The cable goes into the AUX jack of my stereo at the pool which is an all in one JVC (old). I am getting a tremendous amount of distortion + the music when I go to play the music. I'm wondering if you can run a cable that long without distortion or if its just that I have a cheap all in one unit that needs a real receiver on it. The distortion happens even if the music isn't playing, just really loud feedback.

Anyone have any thoughts on how I can resolve this issue? :shock:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 03, 2016 6:37 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2010 11:02 am
Posts: 1075
Location: Kingston, ON, CA
scarpentier wrote:
Hi,

I have run a cable from my receiver zone 3 about 200Ft down to my pool via ethernet. On one end I have wired the ethernet to a standard audio or RCA cable and the same on the other end. The cable goes into the AUX jack of my stereo at the pool which is an all in one JVC (old). I am getting a tremendous amount of distortion + the music when I go to play the music. I'm wondering if you can run a cable that long without distortion or if its just that I have a cheap all in one unit that needs a real receiver on it. The distortion happens even if the music isn't playing, just really loud feedback.

Anyone have any thoughts on how I can resolve this issue? :shock:


Balanced cables (i.e. XLR) were designed specifically for this very issue.

With an unbalanced cable, maybe try clamping ferrite cores every 10' or something?

Or shield the entire cable in something that suppresses the RFI noise you;re picking up?

_________________
"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it." (Aristotle, 384-322 BCE)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 03, 2016 7:24 am 
Offline
Premium User
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 6:08 pm
Posts: 18450
Location: Montreal, QC, CA
Are you running Ethernet or RCAs? This is not clear in your post.

Ethernet is used for digital signals up to around 1000 feet and uses RJ-45 connectors. RCA cables are shielded for analog use in your type of setup and have a useful spec limit of around 10 to 20 feet before distortion starts to set in. Ethernet cable cannot be directly used with RCA plugs. To use it, you would need an Analog to Digital converter with an Ethernet output at the HT receiver end if your Zone 3 outputs are RCA and a Digital to Analog converter with an Ethernet input at the other end to convert the signal back inti the Analog format that your stereo receiver can use.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 03, 2016 8:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 12:51 pm
Posts: 45
Location: Langley, BC, CA
OBI56 wrote:
Ethernet is used for digital signals up to around 1000 feet and uses RJ-45 connectors.


Cat 5e and Cat 6a are good for 100 meters or about 325 feet. Regular Cat 6 is only good for 55 meters. Not that it matters for most residential applications which are short runs. Sorry but I just could not help myself. I have to point out incorrect technical information. Perhaps I need help.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 03, 2016 8:41 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 7:54 am
Posts: 3469
Location: Vernon, BC, CA
OBI56 wrote:
Are you running Ethernet or RCAs? This is not clear in your post.

Ethernet is used for digital signals up to around 1000 feet and uses RJ-45 connectors. RCA cables are shielded for analog use in your type of setup and have a useful spec limit of around 10 to 20 feet before distortion starts to set in. Ethernet cable cannot be directly used with RCA plugs. To use it, you would need an Analog to Digital converter with an Ethernet output at the HT receiver end if your Zone 3 outputs are RCA and a Digital to Analog converter with an Ethernet input at the other end to convert the signal back inti the Analog format that your stereo receiver can use.


Actually you can just solder some RCA connectors to the wires inside an Ethernet cable.

Image

I believe 200' is too long for unbalanced audio signal regardless.

Technically you can use ethernet terminated with 8p8c ends (mistakenly referred to as RJ45) for data runs up to 300'.

-- 03 Jun 2016 16:46 --

GuySmiley wrote:
OBI56 wrote:
Ethernet is used for digital signals up to around 1000 feet and uses RJ-45 connectors.


Cat 5e and Cat 6a are good for 100 meters or about 325 feet. Regular Cat 6 is only good for 55 meters. Not that it matters for most residential applications which are short runs. Sorry but I just could not help myself. I have to point out incorrect technical information. Perhaps I need help.

Cat 6 is good for 100m with 10/100/1000, and only 55m with 10GBase-T.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 03, 2016 8:47 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 4:52 pm
Posts: 1005
Location: Montreal, QC, CA
This is your most cost effective solution:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/PAT-530-5-8GHz- ... 0509131281


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 03, 2016 8:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 5:40 am
Posts: 5
Location: Uxbridge, ON, CA
OBI56 wrote:
Are you running Ethernet or RCAs? This is not clear in your post.

Ethernet is used for digital signals up to around 1000 feet and uses RJ-45 connectors. RCA cables are shielded for analog use in your type of setup and have a useful spec limit of around 10 to 20 feet before distortion starts to set in. Ethernet cable cannot be directly used with RCA plugs. To use it, you would need an Analog to Digital converter with an Ethernet output at the HT receiver end if your Zone 3 outputs are RCA and a Digital to Analog converter with an Ethernet input at the other end to convert the signal back inti the Analog format that your stereo receiver can use.


I used an Ethernet cable for the run. I then spliced and wired it up to an RCA cable on either end. Is there another way to run audio over ethernet?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 03, 2016 8:51 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 7:54 am
Posts: 3469
Location: Vernon, BC, CA
These could work with the existing Ethernet cable, just need 8p8c ends.

http://www.mcmelectronics.com/product/M ... 5-/50-7725

Quote:
Maximum distance: 1000' (assumes Cat5)
Bandwidth: 10Hz ~ 50KHz
Utilizes two Cat5 cable pairs: •Red: Pin 1/2 •White: Pin 3/6.
Dimensions (excluding connectors): 0.85" (H) x 1.69" (W) x 1.94" (L)
Sold individually, must be used in pairs


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 03, 2016 8:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 5:40 am
Posts: 5
Location: Uxbridge, ON, CA
Jared Rachwalski wrote:
OBI56 wrote:
Are you running Ethernet or RCAs? This is not clear in your post.

Ethernet is used for digital signals up to around 1000 feet and uses RJ-45 connectors. RCA cables are shielded for analog use in your type of setup and have a useful spec limit of around 10 to 20 feet before distortion starts to set in. Ethernet cable cannot be directly used with RCA plugs. To use it, you would need an Analog to Digital converter with an Ethernet output at the HT receiver end if your Zone 3 outputs are RCA and a Digital to Analog converter with an Ethernet input at the other end to convert the signal back inti the Analog format that your stereo receiver can use.


Actually you can just solder some RCA connectors to the wires inside an Ethernet cable.

Image

I believe 200' is too long for unbalanced audio signal regardless.

Technically you can use ethernet terminated with 8p8c ends (mistakenly referred to as RJ45) for data runs up to 300'.

-- 03 Jun 2016 16:46 --

GuySmiley wrote:
OBI56 wrote:
Ethernet is used for digital signals up to around 1000 feet and uses RJ-45 connectors.


Cat 5e and Cat 6a are good for 100 meters or about 325 feet. Regular Cat 6 is only good for 55 meters. Not that it matters for most residential applications which are short runs. Sorry but I just could not help myself. I have to point out incorrect technical information. Perhaps I need help.

Cat 6 is good for 100m with 10/100/1000, and only 55m with 10GBase-T.


I wired mine up similar to the picture; however I used four wires for each connection instead of two. Should I just use two wires for each RCA connection (2 for white and 2 for red) and then leave the other four alone or is it OK to use 4 for white and 4 for red thus running the audio for positive and negative over two wires instead of one. The wire is already burried and is using Cat5e gel filled outdoor wire.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 03, 2016 9:11 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 7:54 am
Posts: 3469
Location: Vernon, BC, CA
2 over 4 should nlot make much difference.
What would make a difference is which actual wires you used.
Cat 5 (or 6) uses 'twisted' pairs of wires.
The twists reduce noise and allow for such long runs for data transmission.
OIt is possible that using a different combination of wires could result in more/less noise.

I would just stick with using 2 wires per side, not 4.

Even better would be using the wireless transmitters or the cat 5 balun I linked.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 03, 2016 9:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 5:40 am
Posts: 5
Location: Uxbridge, ON, CA
Jared Rachwalski wrote:
2 over 4 should nlot make much difference.
What would make a difference is which actual wires you used.
Cat 5 (or 6) uses 'twisted' pairs of wires.
The twists reduce noise and allow for such long runs for data transmission.
OIt is possible that using a different combination of wires could result in more/less noise.

I would just stick with using 2 wires per side, not 4.

Even better would be using the wireless transmitters or the cat 5 balun I linked.


I'll try that then maybe the wireless. It may even be the receiver since its pretty old/cheap. even when I hook up an AUX cable to it there is background noise. Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 03, 2016 10:11 am 
Offline
Dealer/Sponsor

Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2008 8:18 am
Posts: 304
Location: Etobicoke, ON, CA
Move the pool closer to the house.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 03, 2016 10:11 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 6:29 am
Posts: 193
Location: Toronto, ON, CA
RDL and Rolls both make unbalanced RCA type to balanced converters. Typically you will find this stuff, possibly from catalog, at your local Music instrument shop.

You will need a send/receive device at each end. Canadian distribution by Erikson.

In a standard Cat 5 type wire you have enough wires to make this work and at the end of the day, signal to noise will be reasonable if not ideal.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 03, 2016 10:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 5:40 am
Posts: 5
Location: Uxbridge, ON, CA
julesaudio wrote:
RDL and Rolls both make unbalanced RCA type to balanced converters. Typically you will find this stuff, possibly from catalog, at your local Music instrument shop.

You will need a send/receive device at each end. Canadian distribution by Erikson.

In a standard Cat 5 type wire you have enough wires to make this work and at the end of the day, signal to noise will be reasonable if not ideal.


Do you mean something like this?
http://www.mcmelectronics.com/product/M ... -/555-8485


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 03, 2016 1:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 4:17 pm
Posts: 2366
Location: Winnipeg, MB, CA
Do you pick up your wireless network at your pool area? My phone doesn't disconnect from my home network until well past 200 ft from the house. Perhaps your solution is in a wireless receiver at the pool and leave the zone feature out of the process altogether


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group