Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Mon Oct 23, 2017 4:11 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2017 7:20 pm 

http://www.partsconnexion.com/wire_hook ... dca16.html

I read about this wire working very well as a speaker cable on a blog written at "Jeff's Place ".He even uses the 16 gauge and 20 gauge to make interconnect cables. Don't need IC's, but I plan on using this stuff for a set of speaker cables to be 4 meters long, replacing a set of Reality Cables. Will let you know how I like this fairly new wire from Duelund.

Best Regards
Igor

PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2017 6:57 am 

I have been using the 16GA for a few months now as speaker cable and love it-found it sounds best using the bare wire to connect. Also had Chris at Partsconnexion make me a pair of interconnects using the 20GA with Dueland RCA plugs and they also sound very nice

PostPosted: Sun Aug 06, 2017 7:58 am 

I have tried both the Duelund 16 gauge and 12 gauge as speaker wires on one of my systems and I found the 12 gauge is generally better in terms of clarity, smoothness and tighter bass. I also agree it is best to use bare wires to the binding post at both ends. Note that it does take about 100+ hours for the cables to burn in and open up. The 16gauge was very tight and reserved when I first started using them and started opening up after 40-50 hours of play.
I have also made up interconnects using the 16ga both shielded and unshielded. I found the unshielded to have better clarity and smoothness. They have competed very well against interconnects costing > $1000 in my system.

PostPosted: Sun Aug 06, 2017 1:11 pm 

Never tried the Dueland, but I have used the Swedish company Supra's tin-plated copper speaker cable in the 2.5, 4.0 and 6 mm2 sizes.