Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 2:00 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Help with Coax Cable
PostPosted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 10:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 8:54 am
Posts: 98
Location: Stratford, PE, CA
I am trying to hook up a DAC to a CDP via a Coaxial cable. It seems none of my CDPs are optically equipped ,I buzz around Charlottetown trying to find one that isn't 100 ft long. I find one but the Dac and CDP coaxial terminal isn't threaded..What type do I need? If anybody can help I'd be happy.

Cheers
Alan


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help with Coax Cable
PostPosted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 10:44 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 8:20 am
Posts: 4398
Location: London, ON, CA
You need a cable with RCA connections on both ends. The threaded 'F' connector-type cables are for cable TV or antennas. You could probably get by with a decent quality "Composite Video" cable, which is 75 ohms with RCA connections. There are special-purpose "Digital" cables, but they are more money. If you are just starting out with modest equipment it is unlikely that you will hear a difference ... or you can probably find something like this Ultralink 'Digital Interconnect' used for a decent price.


Attachments:
P1020833.JPG
P1020833.JPG [ 152.96 KiB | Viewed 569 times ]

_________________
1978 Rickenbacker 4001, 2010 Gibson Thunderbird, and Dean Fretless Basses;
1987 Guild Nightbird, 2000 Taylor 310KCE, and Godin 5th Avenue Guitars.

If you can use one of those newfangled Internets, you can post photos in your damn classified ads. :roll:


Last edited by Quadzilla on Sun Dec 03, 2017 11:10 am, edited 1 time in total.
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help with Coax Cable
PostPosted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 11:10 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 9:17 am
Posts: 13878
Location: Toronto, ON, CA
FTR, I found some benefits to using quad-shield RG-6 cable with F connectors and RCA adapters. This ensures good shielding of the signal and maintains true 75ohm connectivity.

_________________
To a hammer, everything looks like a nail


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help with Coax Cable
PostPosted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 3:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 8:54 am
Posts: 98
Location: Stratford, PE, CA
Thanks Men! I found one on Amazon for $10. I am basically just "futhering "around with this for a distraction from work


Best

Alan


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help with Coax Cable
PostPosted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 6:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2005 4:25 pm
Posts: 690
Location: Hamilton, ON, CA
I use Ultralink digital cables, same as recommended.
Good value for the dollar - well constructed.

I believe in something built decent enough - but, not overkill.
Just never (myself) been privy to some sort of sound revolution with any cable.

It anything, it finishes off the system.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help with Coax Cable
PostPosted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 8:54 am
Posts: 98
Location: Stratford, PE, CA
Well I finally found a cable in the heart of Charlottetown

I hooked the coax from Dac to the coax on the cdp. Final Lab interconnects from the Dac to Amp and no sound,not even a note.

My logical mind says this should work..but nothing any suggestions for it besides a kick to the Hillsborough River

Thanks

Alan


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help with Coax Cable
PostPosted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2006 4:45 pm
Posts: 108
Location: Montréal, QC, CA
AJCall wrote:
Well I finally found a cable in the heart of Charlottetown

I hooked the coax from Dac to the coax on the cdp. Final Lab interconnects from the Dac to Amp and no sound,not even a note.

My logical mind says this should work..but nothing any suggestions for it besides a kick to the Hillsborough River

Thanks

Alan


Verify the setup of your CDP. Make sure the coaxial output is turned on. Some components allow you to turn on and off the outputs. Also verify if the coax cable has directional arrows, and that the arrows point towards the DAC.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help with Coax Cable
PostPosted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:43 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 8:20 am
Posts: 4398
Location: London, ON, CA
What DAC? What CD player? Did you buy them new or used?
Can I assume that you tried it on a few different CD players with the same DAC?
Can you check the cable for continuity and shorts with a multimeter?
If not, try using it as an analog interconnect to see if it works.

_________________
1978 Rickenbacker 4001, 2010 Gibson Thunderbird, and Dean Fretless Basses;
1987 Guild Nightbird, 2000 Taylor 310KCE, and Godin 5th Avenue Guitars.

If you can use one of those newfangled Internets, you can post photos in your damn classified ads. :roll:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help with Coax Cable
PostPosted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 8:54 am
Posts: 98
Location: Stratford, PE, CA
Thanks Scudder but no sound.

I tried a different CDP,the experiment is over,the experiment is over.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help with Coax Cable
PostPosted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 12:30 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 9:17 am
Posts: 13878
Location: Toronto, ON, CA
Wouldn't the DAC have a switch to change inputs? Mine does, right on the front panel.

_________________
To a hammer, everything looks like a nail


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help with Coax Cable
PostPosted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 12:51 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 8:20 am
Posts: 4398
Location: London, ON, CA
ripblade wrote:
Wouldn't the DAC have a switch to change inputs? Mine does, right on the front panel.


That is exactly why I asked him what DAC he had, but he didn't want to tell us.

_________________
1978 Rickenbacker 4001, 2010 Gibson Thunderbird, and Dean Fretless Basses;
1987 Guild Nightbird, 2000 Taylor 310KCE, and Godin 5th Avenue Guitars.

If you can use one of those newfangled Internets, you can post photos in your damn classified ads. :roll:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help with Coax Cable
PostPosted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 3:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 8:54 am
Posts: 98
Location: Stratford, PE, CA
Quadzilla wrote:
ripblade wrote:
Wouldn't the DAC have a switch to change inputs? Mine does, right on the front panel.


That is exactly why I asked him what DAC he had, but he didn't want to tell us.



Sorry,no intent on non disclosure,it is a MCM-50774 and all the corresponding buttons have been pushed

-- 05 Dec 2017 00:20 --

ripblade wrote:
Wouldn't the DAC have a switch to change inputs? Mine does, right on the front panel.



yep it does I did get some volume with a Phillips CDP and the volume cranked to 12 o'clock on the Acurus.

anyhow I've asked for a refund.Thanks for the help to all


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group