Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 8:55 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

PostPosted: Fri Apr 07, 2017 11:22 am 

First off I'm new to the home stereo world ,I'm trying to build a block rocking stereo for my shop on a budget . I was told that this amp is a beast (denon avr-5600) and although the sound quality is spectacular, it really doesn't seem to have the jam to move my two serving Vega at-15 towers . My question is, does anyone on this site have this amp?have tried messing with the channel settings to bring the volume up, but it decreases the amount of total volume that you can adjust the master volume knob . And if not this amp , what would b a good match for the cerwin vega at-15s?

PostPosted: Fri Apr 07, 2017 1:02 pm 

AT-15s are very power-hungry. AVR receivers are designed to drive multiple channels at a shared wattage. In 2-channel mode the 5600 drives 140 per side; the AT-15s would do better with 200 a side...at a minimum. Sunfire and Carver are two great (and relatively inexpensive) amps for AT-15s. Look for something with a minimum of 200 watts per-side into 8 ohms. If I remember correctly, the AT15 is a 4-ohm speaker...less resistance requires greater power....like 400 per side into 4 ohms.

I drive my CV D7s with a Denon 2200 which is only 90watts per side into 8ohms......for me, bi-wired with a pair of JBL S38s, I have more than enough volume. But I don't have the same tastes as you... I play in the 60 db range....not 100 plus.

So, simply speaking, asking a home theatre receiver to drive a pair of power-hungry speakers at high, continuous volume will be asking too much; you may well overheat the receiver before you rupture your ear drums.