Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Fri Oct 20, 2017 8:59 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2016 5:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 8:09 am
Posts: 545
Location: Ottawa, ON, CA
Hi everyone.
So, I just bought a Marantz SR5011 to go with my VIZIO HD smart tv. I have been able to set up the connections for the BlueRay player and Wii U console. However, when trying to use the smart tv apps (e.g., Netflix), I cannot get any sound through the receiver after selecting the tv/audio function as the source input on the remote. I have an optical cable connecting the audio output of the tv to the audio input of the receiver . There are a number of other steps that I have omitted here for the sake of simplicity (HDMI selection, CEC on the tv, optical input selection on the receiver etc). Has anyone experience with setting up an ARC feature on their home theatre equipment?

thanks in advance.

:)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2016 6:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 7:52 pm
Posts: 451
Location: Waverley, NS, CA
Do you need to turn off the volume output in the Tv so the Tv speakers are not enabled??


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2016 6:11 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2005 1:56 pm
Posts: 1097
Location: near PETERBOROUGH, ON, CA
The arc comes in through the hdmi out connection on the marantz rcvr.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2016 6:13 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 7:54 am
Posts: 3452
Location: Vernon, BC, CA
You must be plugged into the proper HDMI output on the Marantz.

Also the TV must be ARC compatible.

If it worked you do not need the optical cable. If you want the optical to work then you may need to change a setting in the TV menu to allow sound to be output through the optical.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2016 9:10 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 8:09 am
Posts: 545
Location: Ottawa, ON, CA
thanks for the replies.

I have the HDMI going into the correct input on the Marantz (according to the web manual). Speakers on the TV are off. The TV is ARC compliant - but I just realized that the HDMI socket (on the TV) that I have it currently hooked into is not the ARC compliant output - I'll try that and report back. Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2016 9:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 8:43 am
Posts: 936
Location: Burlington, ON, CA
Had a similar issue with my Pioneer AVR and Panny Plasma.

Turned out I had the HDMI in the wrong socket at the TV end. (HDMI 2 vs HDMI 1 - only 1 was ARC).

_________________
Give me a musical system and a PC front end

Mark in Burlington


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2016 1:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 8:09 am
Posts: 545
Location: Ottawa, ON, CA
mcgsxr wrote:
Had a similar issue with my Pioneer AVR and Panny Plasma.

Turned out I had the HDMI in the wrong socket at the TV end. (HDMI 2 vs HDMI 1 - only 1 was ARC).


ya, I suspect that's my issue. Will change socket HDMI tonight.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2016 4:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 8:09 am
Posts: 545
Location: Ottawa, ON, CA
Problem solved!

It was the hdmi out selection. Chznged if to the arc compatible socket and i now have sound via netflix from the smart tv app.

Thanks for your help!! :D


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group